Overkill – It’s an Original Hit! Even Better, it’s a Sequel!

Overkill, book 1 of the Orphan’s Legacy series, has only been on shelves, online, and available as an audiobook for a couple of weeks now, but you like it a lot, which makes my day.  Before the world got connected, authors and publishers had to wait on print reviews, sales figures that came back from stores months later, and the occasional fan letter to gauge reader reaction to a new release.

Today, though, readers post comments online instantly.  Reader reviews of Overkill have been, well, as shamelessly squibbed below:

“a great book…one of the most imaginative pieces of science fiction I have read in a while”

“Brilliant, I couldn’t put it down. Actually I bought it to go on my kindle but didnt even wait long enough to transfer it and read it all on a laptop screen in one sitting!”

“Spellbinding”

“Robert Buettner’s first novel, Orphanage, will forever be one of my all time favorite military science fiction novels…Overkill…gave me a close approximation of the joy I felt while reading Orphanage.”

That last comment addresses my sole concern to date.  Some new Overkill /Buettner fans don’t know that there are five books out there, beginning with Orphanage, that set the stage for Overkill.  Most of those newbies seem to be getting that pleasant surprise when they read the Afterword at the end of Overkill.  But Overkill was designed as, and appears to be working as, a stand-alone novel.

It’s a pleasant problem for an author to have.

17 Responses to “Overkill – It’s an Original Hit! Even Better, it’s a Sequel!”

  1. Jon Says:

    Wow, I didn’t even realize this book had come out yet. Oops. Looks like I’ve got another book to read! I can’t wait to get my hands on this one though.

  2. planetheidi Says:

    Did not know this was out until I saw this. But wait, not available on the Nook.

  3. robertbuettner Says:

    Happily for planetheidi, and the rest of us, Overkill IS available for the Nook, Kindle, i-phone and i-pad as well as for other e-book formats. You just have to buy it via Baen Webscriptions as a file sent to your computer, http://www.webscription.net/p-1318-overkill.aspx, then download it to your Kindle, Nook, I-phone, or other mobile device. How? See: http://www.webscription.net/t-kindle.aspx ; http://www.webscription.net/t-iphone.aspx

    Unless, like me, you think “USB cable” is an antisubmarine trap, transferring to a mobile device is easy. Actually, it can be even easier. There are ways, detailed at Webscriptions, to get the book delivered direct to your Kindle, for example.

    The Webscription book is also about a buck cheaper than most direct-load editions of my previous non-Baen books.

  4. Steven Says:

    Glad you posted this, I also had no idea this was out, going to pick it up via webscriptions.

  5. Laurence MacNaughton Says:

    Can’t wait for the next book, Undercurrents! It’s great to watch this universe evolve and expand. Hopefully, I can talk you into doing another of your signature eye-opening interviews!

    • robertbuettner Says:

      Thanks, Laurence. The rest of you can, and i hope will, check out the first of my series of interviews at Laurence’s Youcanwriteanovel.com.

  6. Jon Says:

    I just received my copy in the mail today, can’t wait to dig in! I was however surprised to see that it’s in large type format and about the size of a hardcover book without actually being hardcover. I don’t mind at all, I just didn’t realize it would be in this format. Is there a regular paperback version or did I get the only one out so far? I apologize in advance if this seems like a silly question to be asking. Thanks so much for the hard work you put into your writing.

    • robertbuettner Says:

      Dear Jon –

      Glad you’re glad. Hope you like Overkill as well as most people seem to.

      The big format? Baen anointed Overkill, like a few titles each year, a “Big Book.” Among other nice things, “Big Book” is literally as big as a hardcover. But without the hardcover price. Hardcovers, big books or trade paperbacks usually are later re-released as smaller, cheaper mass market paperbacks. For example, I wrote the Afterword for Baen’s reissued Robert Heinlein short story collection, The Green Hills of Earth/The Menace From Earth, which came out in trade paperback in March, 2010. GreenHills/Menace will be re-released in May, 2011 in mass market paperback. Baen hasn’t announced a mass market Overkill yet. Meantime, Overkill’s sequel, Undercurrents, will be released July 5, 2011, also as a Big Book.

      Personally, I love big book format, because it’s lighter and more flexible to hold than hardcover, but I can read it easily without glasses. That’s a no-go with mass market paperback. And the battery never runs down.

  7. rdparker29 Says:

    Mr. Buettner,

    My wife and I loved your Orphanage series. Glad we met you in downtown Woodstock back awhile ago and discovered your fantastic writing! Excited to hear that Overkill is out! Can’t wait to read it.

    P.S. Will you be at DragonCon in Atlanta this year? Please, please, please come if you can!

    Thanks!

  8. Michael Says:

    Hello Robert, Hav’nt gotten Overkill yet,(want to wait for the smaller paperback) but i wanted to ask you a question before buying it: How does this tie into the Orphange Universe? Thanks for giving all of us some fantastic books!!!!

    • robertbuettner Says:

      Michael – Overkill picks up human history thirty-forty years after the Slug War that ended at the close of the Orphanage series. Readers of the first series will recognize the history, technology, and some places and characters. Maybe “recognize” understates the degree of connection. To say more might spoil things for some readers.

      As for waiting for the mass market paperback, it’s true that such an edition routinely follows a hardcover, a big book (like Overkill), or a trade paperback. However, publishers decide that based on sales of the original version. Baen/Simon & Schuster haven’t announced a mass market edition of Overkill yet, so that rabbit’s still in the hat. I can’t promise.

      • Michael Says:

        Well then, you’ve twisted my arm, i’ll get the big book!!! I’ve got my fingers crossed on seeing SGT. Ord again….. Thanks Robert!!! 🙂

  9. Jon Says:

    I was just finally able to start the book yesterday, and it turned into one of the few times I’ve bothered to finish a book in under a day! Great read, kept the pages turning at breakneck speed from start to finish. I loved the little mentions here and there of things from the first series that I had completely forgotten about. The visit from a certain character at the end of the book was particularly cool and actually tied in well with the story. I don’t want to say more than that and spoil anything for anyone. Can’t wait for the next entry!

    • Robert Buettner Says:

      Thanks for the kind words, Jon. The next book, Undercurrents, is VERY different, but incorporates familiar elements as well. And at least you only have to wait 90 days (July 5, 2011).

  10. AJD Says:

    Just finished reading the Undercurrents ARC from Baen, and it was a fantastic read! (Of course, now I have to deal with the fact that I’m stuck waiting for the next book.)

    • robertbuettner Says:

      Dear AJD,

      This is my first experience with Baen’s E-ARC system. Like every author, I cringe that you read it while I’m still correcting the typos and wording that will go into the final book, but I’m just glad you enjoyed it anyway.

      – Robert Buettner

      • AJD Says:

        Look at it this way, I enjoyed Overkill so much, I went and got the Orphan series from Amazon, then read it straight through in a week.
        Now the eARC comes out and I read it overnight, but I already pre-ordered it from Amazon as well.
        The eARC experience is interesting because it also sometimes gives the reader a window into the author’s thought process. A great example is the eARC for John Ringo’s “Hot Gate” since John had changed the name of one of the main characters between the time she first appeared, and the time she was introduced in the book. As a result, she kept getting referred to by two different names through the eARC. I asked John about it on Facebook, and he explained why the name was changed, but also how he still mentally thinks of her by the original name.

Leave a Reply

